Maxi Dresses

So I stumbled on this tutorial for how to make your own maxi dress. I found it on Pinterest [I know, I’m obsessed. Sorry!] and just had to try it. Kudos to the young lady over at “A Small Snippet” who posted this tutorial. Her version turned out STUNNING! You can find it here. I posted a picture of what her’s looked like. I love the fabric and

everything about it. So cute! So I read the tutorial and thought “yeah, I can do that!”. So off I ran to my nearest fabric store to gather my supplies.

I grabbed thread and elastic thread [which was WAY easier to use than I thought it would be!] and found a fabric that I really loved. I think I paid $10.88 per yard for the fabric. I got a lot of fabric because it has been ages since I’ve used a sewing machine and I wanted to make sure that I had enough in case I messed up. I also ran over to Wal Mart and picked upa basic black tank top for $3.88 which means my dress cost me about $15 when it was all said and done. Not too shabby!

Anyways, so I sat down and followed all the directions and ended up with a very cute dress that has some little quirks that I will be able to address better the next time I do it. For instance, my dress, I didn’t make a belt but

rather am planning on wearing my large black belt. My dress turned out like this and I’m pretty happy with it. I love the pattern and feel like it’s a really nice summer dress. When I wear it with a belt it looks super cute! We’ll see how it goes over in public because I’m planning on wearing it to work today 🙂

As for my “quirks”, I have a couple seams that didn’t quite line up, which is essentially OK because I’m wearing a belt with it. And, let’s be honest, I’m nothing if not forthcoming so I’m not going to lie to you, dear internet friends, and pretend my dress turned out perfect when it didn’t. As you can see from above, those seams are close but just not quite on the same page. They wanted to travel different paths and I let them. Probably because I was so excited about this and also because, in the original tutorial there were no guiding pins. Clearly this chick is better than I am at sewing. I give her props. Now I just have to get much better! [By the way, I love her website and you should check out her blog. The link is above!]. I also have this seam that wanted to do its own thing:So, as you can see, I am not perfect and I won’t pretend to be! At least you can bet on getting honest posts from this girl. Mistakes and all!

I will say this, I’m excited to give this another go. Using elastic thread was not nearly as scary as I thought and the dress finished nicely even without a serger. So I’m happy with that. I hope you get the gumption to try this out! It was a blast and I will for sure being doing another one and hopefully have a more perfect post to share 😉

Happy Monday all!

Leave a Reply

