bareMinerals High Shine Eye Color – Review

Let me start by saying that I’m a fan but not a consistent user of the bareMinerals collections. I own a plethora of their eyeshadows because I like how they wear and the color selection. I also like the eye kits you can purchase. Recently I was seduced by their High Shine Eyecolor collection. First, I love anything that sparkles – I know. A shock! Anywho, so the sparkle caught me first – I was then really impressed by how pigmented they were and how well they swatched.

For $16.00 each they are a little pricey but, per normal, the bareMinerals direct store in the mall was doing a bundling promo so I got two shadows a mascara and a lipgloss at a pretty good deal.

I purchased Meteorite and Glisten. Warm metallic tones that suit my blonde hair and fair skin – especially for summer wear when I love to rock a bronzed look. Meteorite is more of a dark bronze color with flecks of gold and something else that make it irridescent in a really pretty way. Glisten is a light gold with white-gold-ish flecks throughout giving it a really nice highlight quality. Wore individually they are great for two very separate looks. Together, they contour and highlight the eye really nicely.

These are prefect for many different occasions. I like to wear the Meteroite from lash to crease with a dab of the Glisten in my tear-duct area as well as on the high point of my brow for some highlight as a “girl’s night out” look. I enjoy Glisten [by itself] blended from lash-line to crease as a light day look. It’s fun and flirty. I also like to mix them a little over my eye to get a shiny but sunkissed look that appears effortless and free.

These shadows last for hours and you can double that last time with a good primer [I love Urban Decay Primer Potion]. I love an eye shadow that can outlast me into the night and this item definitely does that.

My overall conclusion on the High Shine eye color by bareMinerals is that this is a “must” to add to your “fun and fearless” collection of makeup. I did try to swatch these on my hand for you but I don’t have my actual camera and my cellphone camera isn’t doing the colors justice.

But, I love these – do you use them? Have you? What are your thoughts? Love it? Leave it? Buy the whole stock?

Leave a Reply

